Higher Learning Commission


Find Accredited Institutions arrow

Currently or Previously Affiliated Institutions - 07/02/2015

The directory of institutions provides information on institutions accredited by the Commission, those holding candidate for accreditation status, and those that previously held status, but have since closed, merged, or had their status withdrawn. It includes the Statement of Affiliation Status and Organizational Profile for each currently accredited and candidate institution, any Public Disclosure Notices that have been issued, and the most recent action letters from reaffirmations of accreditation occurring after June 2013.

Information provided on the Statement of Affiliation Status reflects the most recent actions of the Commission. The Commission has a multi-level decision process. Any institutional changes that are currently under review are not made public until final action has been taken.

**During the transition to the new Pathways model for reaffirmation of accreditation, some scheduled events are not displayed on this version of the Statement of Affiliation Status. Institutions can refer to the transition maps in the Open and Standard Pathways booklets for the timing of reviews. Institutions that have questions about other scheduled events should contact their HLC staff liaison.**

Southeastern Oklahoma State University

1405 N. 4th Avenue
PMB 4236

Durant, OK 74701-0609
(580) 745-2500 (Main Phone)


Statement of Affiliation Status Click here for definitions...

Chief Executive Officer: Mr. Sean Burrage, President
Name change notes: Oklahoma State Teachers College, Southeast to Southeastern Oklahoma State University (1974)
HLC Institution ID: 1639
Current Accreditation Status: Accredited
Accreditation Date(s): 01/01/1922 - 10/31/1934; 01/01/1949

Summary of Commission Review

Last Reaffirmation of Accreditation: 2013 - 2014
     • Action Letter (PDF)

Next Reaffirmation of Accreditation: 2023 - 2024

Last Date of Information Change: 06/30/2014

Control: Public
Degrees Awarded (details below): Bachelors, Masters, Certificate

Organizational Profile Click here for definitions...

Enrollment Headcount (last updated: 04/17/2015)
  Full-Time                       Part-Time
Undergraduate: 2,702   619
Graduate: 166   240
Dual enrollment (high school) programs:   142  

Degree Programs (last updated: 04/17/2015)
  Programs Offered   Degrees Awarded in Last Reported Year
Associate Degrees 0   0
Bachelors Degrees 38   668
Masters Degrees 12   133
Specialist Degrees 0   0
Doctoral Degrees 0   0
Certificate Programs (last updated: 04/17/2015)
  Programs Offered   Certificates Awarded in Last Reported Year
Certificates 1   0

Off-Campus Activities (last updated: 08/17/2013)

In-State:   Campuses:   None.
    Additional Locations:   University Center of Southern Oklahoma - Ardmore, Oklahoma, OK; McCurtain County Campus - Idabel, OK; McAlester Higher Education Center - McAlester, Oklahoma, OK; Rose State College Aviation Program - Midwest City, OK; Tinker Air Force Base - Midwest City, Oklahoma, OK; Oklahoma City Community College Aviation Program - Oklahoma City, OK;
Out-of-State:   Campuses:   None.
    Additional Locations:   Grayson County College - Denison, TX; Grayson College--South Campus - Van Alstyne, TX;
Out-of-U.S.:   Campuses:   None.
    Additional Locations:   None.