Higher Learning Commission

hlc 2012 search

Find Accredited Institutions arrow

Currently or Previously Affiliated Institutions - 04/24/2014

The directory of institutions provides information on institutions accredited by the Commission, those holding candidate for accreditation status, and those that previously held status, but have since closed, merged, or had their status withdrawn. It includes the Statement of Affiliation Status and Organizational Profile for each currently accredited and candidate institution, any Public Disclosure Notices that have been issued, and the most recent action letters from reaffirmations of accreditation occurring after June 2013.

Information provided on the Statement of Affiliation Status reflects the most recent actions of the Commission. The Commission has a multi-level decision process. Any institutional changes that are currently under review are not made public until final action has been taken.

**During the transition to the new Pathways model for reaffirmation of accreditation, some scheduled events are not displayed on this version of the Statement of Affiliation Status. Institutions can refer to the transition maps in the Open and Standard Pathways booklets for the timing of reviews. Institutions that have questions about other scheduled events should contact their HLC staff liaison.**

Ottawa University

1001 South Cedar Street
Ottawa, KS 66067
(785) 242-5200 (Main Phone)


Statement of Affiliation Status Click here for definitions...

Chief Executive Officer: Dr. Kevin Eichner, President
HLC Institution ID: 1294
Current Accreditation Status: Accredited
Accreditation Date(s): 01/01/1914

Summary of Commission Review

Last Reaffirmation of Accreditation: 2003 - 2004

Next Reaffirmation of Accreditation: 2013 - 2014

Last Date of Information Change: 08/12/2013

Control: Private NFP
Degrees Awarded (details below): Certificate, Bachelors, Masters

Stipulations on Affiliation Status:

Institution offerings in California are restricted to in-service courses of the type currently being given. Accreditation at the Masters level is limited to the Master of Arts in Human Resources, the Master of Arts in Counseling, the Master of Arts in Education and the Master of Business Administration. The Master of Arts in Professional Counseling and the Master of Arts in Education are limited to the State of Arizona. The Master of Business Administration is limited to the State of Arizona, Overland Park, Kansas, Ottawa, Kansas, Jeffersonville, IN and Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Off campus degree programs are limited to centers in the State of Arizona; Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Overland Park, Kansas; Kansas City, MO; New Orleans, Louisiana; Jeffersonville, Indiana; and Wilmington, Delaware. International degree programs are limited to degree completion programs for the Bachelor of Arts degree in Education and in Business Administration in Hong Kong, Singapore, and Malaysia, and to the Master of Arts in Human Resources in Hong Kong.
Approval of New Degree Locations:
Prior Commission approval required.
Approval of Distance and Correspondence Courses and Programs:
The institution has been approved under Commission policy to offer up to 100% of its total degree programs through distance education. The processes for expanding distance education are defined in other Commission documents.

Organizational Profile Click here for definitions...

Enrollment Headcount (last updated: 08/17/2013)
  Full-Time                       Part-Time
Undergraduate: 537   1,301
Graduate: 41   615
Dual enrollment (high school) programs:   0  

Degree Programs (last updated: 08/17/2013)
  Programs Offered   Degrees Awarded in Last Reported Year
Associate Degrees 0   0
Bachelors Degrees 36   778
Masters Degrees 4   368
Specialist Degrees 0   0
Doctoral Degrees 0   0
Certificate Programs (last updated: 08/17/2013)
  Programs Offered   Certificates Awarded in Last Reported Year
Certificates 9   25

Off-Campus Activities (last updated: 04/01/2014)

In-State:   Campuses:   Ottawa University Overland Park - Overland Park, KS;
    Additional Locations:   Johnson County Community College - Olathe Health Education Center - Olathe, KS; Johnson County Community College - Main Campus - Overland Park, KS;
Out-of-State:   Campuses:   Ottawa University Milwaukee - Brookfield, WI; Ottawa University Jeffersonville - Jeffersonville, IN; Ottawa University Phoenix - Phoenix, AZ;
    Additional Locations:   Ottawa University - Chandler - Chandler, AZ; Mesa Community College - Mesa, AZ; Oak Creek - Oak Creek, WI; Surprise - Surprise, AZ;
Out-of-U.S.:   Campuses:   None.
    Additional Locations:   Ottawa University International - Hong Kong, CHINA;