Higher Learning Commission


Find Accredited Institutions arrow

Currently or Previously Affiliated Institutions - 07/06/2015

The directory of institutions provides information on institutions accredited by the Commission, those holding candidate for accreditation status, and those that previously held status, but have since closed, merged, or had their status withdrawn. It includes the Statement of Affiliation Status and Organizational Profile for each currently accredited and candidate institution, any Public Disclosure Notices that have been issued, and the most recent action letters from reaffirmations of accreditation occurring after June 2013.

Information provided on the Statement of Affiliation Status reflects the most recent actions of the Commission. The Commission has a multi-level decision process. Any institutional changes that are currently under review are not made public until final action has been taken.

**During the transition to the new Pathways model for reaffirmation of accreditation, some scheduled events are not displayed on this version of the Statement of Affiliation Status. Institutions can refer to the transition maps in the Open and Standard Pathways booklets for the timing of reviews. Institutions that have questions about other scheduled events should contact their HLC staff liaison.**

Northern Illinois University

Altgeld Hall 300
Office of the President

DeKalb, IL 60115
(815) 753-1271 (Main Phone)


Statement of Affiliation Status Click here for definitions...

Chief Executive Officer: Dr. Douglas D. Baker, President
HLC Institution ID: 1134
Current Accreditation Status: Accredited
Accreditation Date(s): 01/01/1915

Summary of Commission Review

Last Reaffirmation of Accreditation: 2013 - 2014
     • Action Letter (PDF)

Next Reaffirmation of Accreditation: 2023 - 2024

Last Date of Information Change: 06/30/2014

Control: Public
Degrees Awarded (details below): Bachelors, Doctors, Masters, Specialist, Certificate

Organizational Profile Click here for definitions...

Enrollment Headcount (last updated: 04/16/2015)
  Full-Time                       Part-Time
Undergraduate: 13,489   1,946
Graduate: 2,368   2,808
Dual enrollment (high school) programs:   0  

Degree Programs (last updated: 04/16/2015)
  Programs Offered   Degrees Awarded in Last Reported Year
Associate Degrees 0   0
Bachelors Degrees 71   3,675
Masters Degrees 56   1,347
Specialist Degrees 1   7
Doctoral Degrees 22   259
Certificate Programs (last updated: 04/16/2015)
  Programs Offered   Certificates Awarded in Last Reported Year
Certificates 1   13

Off-Campus Activities (last updated: 05/26/2015)

In-State:   Campuses:   None.
    Additional Locations:   Ivy Hall School - Buffalo Grove, IL; Oakton Community College - Des Plaines, IL; Elgin Community College - Elgin, IL; University Center of Lake County - Grayslake - Grayslake, IL; NIU Hoffman Estates - Hoffman Estates, IL; Joliet Professional Development Alliance - Joliet, IL; Navistar - Lisle, IL; Kishwaukee College - Malta, IL; NIU Naperville - Naperville, IL; Heartland Community College - Normal, IL; Harper College - Palatine, IL; NIU Rockford - Rockford, IL; St. Charles North High School - St. Charles, IL; Waubonsee Community College - Sugar Grove, IL;
Out-of-State:   Campuses:   None.
    Additional Locations:   None.
Out-of-U.S.:   Campuses:   None.
    Additional Locations:   None.